Book Review — The Plot is Murder by V.M. Burns

Regina The Southernista
2 min readFeb 20, 2023

Hello book lovers and especially cozy mystery lovers! I was going to post this Wednesday but decided to do a separate book review for this book. I have to say February has been a great reading month for me with a lot of four and five star reads.

One of those five star reads is book one, there are 8 books, of V.M. Burns’ Mystery Bookshop Mystery series The Plot is Murder which I read in 24 hours! I just couldn’t put this book down it was so good. Also the main character Samantha is a budding historical cozy mystery author so while she is investigating a murder you also get to read her mystery she is writing so you get a mystery within a mystery! How cool is that!

The mystery is set in North Harbor, MI and out main character is Samantha Washington who is recently widowed. She made her promise to her beloved husband, Leon, that she would use the insurance money and sale of their house to realize their dream or opening up a mystery bookstore. Before Market Street Mysteries open the body of shady realtor Clayton Parker is found behind her store. Samantha has a history with Clayton who tried everything he could to stop her from buying the building that would become her dream bookstore. When Detective Brad Pitt (I know) sets his sights on Sam as the prime suspect she decides to add sleuth to her already packed life.

--

--

Regina The Southernista

I'm a 50 something southern girl who has a passion for fashion. Join me on my fashion journey. Follow me on Instagram: @reginathesouthernista